Skulls tournament report

Another ramble-report – I attended the first Skulls tournament of 2017, I took Molly for all 3 games because every time I take Ressers to a tournament and play a game with any master that isn’t Molly I usually feel pretty dissappointed. My goal for this event was to win 2/3 games, I’ve been consistantly trying to improve my play this year and I’m starting to feel like I’m not absolutely terrible at Malifaux anymore.

As always, I have a hazy memory at best so my game reports are just things that stood out to me.

Molly vs John’s Tara

Another game against long time opponent John’s Tara,  The game was extraction and I took frame for murder on a nurse and claim jump. John has seen my frame for murder tricks with a nurse enough times that he refused to kill her – I was hoping he would think that I’ve done it so many times that I wouldn’t do it again… John scored hunting party a few times with the nothing beast and scored the strategy a few times. I managed to score claim jump once and the strategy 3 times, claim jump was denied on turn 5 otherwise the game would have been a draw, this game was super close and I lost 4-5. I don’t remember a lot of the details of this game as it was the first game of the day and 3 games in a day tends to fry my brain a little. A well played, close game! Again, I have a shit memory so this report is the least detailed.

Molly vs Josh’s Reva

This was the first time I have played against Reva and the first time I have faced Josh, this was my favourite game of the day because Josh was a fun opponent with a good sense of humour, the jokes and banter really made the game. Josh chose to deploy first and put Reva on the roof of a building. I’ve heard that roof Reva is pretty scary, so I deployed a Belle across from her and lured her off the roof for a cheeky 4 damage. Meanwhile Reva’s carrion emissary used shards of Kythera twice to block the majority of my of my crew off from doing anything impressive, I spent the majority of turn 1 getting around the shards and positioning my crew. at the end of turn 1 I used Molly’s (0) to move my Rogue Necromancy in to combat with Reva, at the start of turn 2 Reva swatted the Rogue Necromancy like a fly, scoring me 3 VP for frame for murder. Afterwards Molly summoned some Punk zombies around Reva and her friends.I thought Molly was safe behind a wall of punk zombies – I was wrong. Reva managed to get her attack trigger to charge Molly and killed her very quickly. Reva does not fuck around.  I scored accusation throughout the game to gain more points. I believe the score was 5-8 in my favour this game. After the game ended I Josh told me his carrion emissary was his frame for murder target but he had refused to let it die early in the game when Sybelle had attempted to insta-kill it with her whip trigger, assuming I would try again later in the game, I chose not to try to kill it later in the game as I was using it as a target for accusation, I think it was sheer luck that I stopped trying to kill it.

Molly vs James’ Misaki

This game was intense, Misaki rolled up and killed two of my belles on turn 1. Oh shit. Misaki and 2 Jorogumo were in the middle of my crew at the start of turn 2. I managed to Paralyze Misaki and a Jorogumo so the rest of my crew could scramble around trying to damage control, it was very difficult to get models near the stash markers because most of my models spent the majority of the game engaged by Jorogumo. Misaki scares the shit out of me.At the end of turn 3 Misaki had very nearly killed Molly, I was surprised that she managed to survive a full round against Misaki, 2 wounds left to her name. I managed to win the initiative on turn 4 and Molly responded in kind and attacked her, I flipped a red joker for my attack on the last attack and thought I would easily paralyze Misaki so that Molly would live to see turn 5 and go about her business. I was confident, yes, it’s a straight flip, I’m going to cheat in this 12 and paralyze her. Then I had a second of premonition – I’m going to black joker this flip, I fucking know it. And then I did. I flipped the black joker. This is when Molly copped a bisento to the face and died. Bad things happen.  Meanwhile Philip and the Nanny and my Dead doxy managed to score claim jump for me a few times and they eventually got close enough the stash markers to net me some points. Sybelle also tried to get near the stash markers on turn 5 but got cut in half by Misaki for her troubles. I won this game 4-7 if I remember correctly.

Thanks to all of my opponents for the games, you were all a pleasure to face.

I displayed my Brewmaster crew for the painting competition and managed to win best painted for this event, I recieved a mystery box which contained an alt Kaeris model, I’ve been considering Kaeris as second Arcanist master to compliment Marcus for quite some time, so I feel like this is the universe making the decision for me – I will be playing Kaeris in the future.

As far as other masters go I finally ordered Reva, the shop I order my models from says they have her in stock so I ordered her. Whether or not it was actually meant to be a pre-order and had been listed wrong I can’t be sure. Whether I get Reva next week or in 4 weeks doesn’t really matter, I’m super keen. After getting a good look at Reva’s model (as she was beating up Molly) I’ve decided that her scale isn’t really an issue, she’s a small girl on a small horse. The horse is also a zombie/supernatural, I can suspend my disbelief enough to believe that it can carry her and Vincent.

I’m also writing a guide on Molly, I’ve been playing her for a litle over a year now and I’m sure I can write a decent guide on how to play her. I might turn it in to a video or a podcast of some sort because I think it’s a much better medium than text for guides. I already have a spirit Molly guide all ready to go, it’s been complete for 6 months, but I think spirit Molly is rubbish compared to horror, so I don’t even want to publish it.

Leave a comment